In Between Seasons by Cassandra Giovanni

Title: In Between Seasons
Author: Cassandra Giovanni
Publisher: Cassandra Giovanni
Rating: 3 Stars
In Between Seasons
In Between Seasons starts off with a war, and Kate, who’s feeling like she just doesn’t belong to her family.  She feels out of place. Feels like people are lying to her. And then. One day, she gets kidnapped by Hunter, the handsome, smoldering, lovely, hot guy character.
It kills me because this shows so much promise. Cassandra Giovanni kills me because she shows so much promise.

I had serious problems with this book. Not that it was bad, because it wasn’t. I was just so taken with the premise of this book, that I was a bit disappointed with the things I was given. The story is very closed, and focuses on the two main characters, which are likeable, crush-worthy people. I liked their strengths. I really liked Hunter. Oooh. Like, take me, Hunter.
And Kate is a capable, strong heroine who learns to be badass. She isn’t afraid to do what it takes to protect her people. She doesn’t curl up when things get bad. And I love her little mini-strike against Hunter at one point.

But. Both of them stay kind of the same. They’re static characters. They stay the same from start to end. I still like them, they just don’t grow. Start to end, they fall in love with each other, are unsure if both of them love each other, and yada-yada-yada.

Cute chart I found, eh? I love Google.

And that’s all that happens. The fact that there’s a war doesn’t have its touch on the story. Besides people occasionally coming and trying to kill Kate. And the events don’t really add up.

Well. Anyway. If you’re looking for romance, here’s where you’ll find it. But not anything about the war. *sigh*

I’m looking forward to see how Cassandra Giovanni will improve, though, and I’d recommend you to try to snag the next book she writes, because, well. Some moments are kind of swoon-worthy, as my extremely feminine hormones tell me. Am I being awkward?

Comment, please, because I'll read every comment. It makes me feel less like I'm just talking to myself.

