Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Title: Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Author: Laini Taylor
Publisher: Little, Brown, & Company
Rating: 5 Stars
Don’t tell me that cover isn’t beautiful. Because it is. Just like THE STORY IS!! 
Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)
This book has exactly 418 pages. I read this in exactly 1 sitting. I read this all the way till 5 AM. I was late for cross country, ignored my dog barking at the raccoon as it ate kitty food, and forgot to call the doc, but I didn’t regret one minute of it.
What I’m trying to say is to drop everything you have RIGHT NOW, and go buy this book.
The story starts in Czechoslovakia, which is a beautiful, just sublime place, as I’ve got the pleasure of knowing.

Even this doesn’t fully capture it’s beauty.

You can get lost here, and see a shop, and then lose it in the menagerie of beautiful shops, narrow spaces, and odd crooks under coffee shops. It’s  a place fitting for the story that takes place here. It’s a place of beauty. Of mystery. Love and art. And, oh the art.

No, I don’t mean the drawings that sometimes show awkwardly up in the middle of the book on glossy paper.
I mean how Laini Taylor makes art just bloom from the pages. Everything about the story she weaves is just, beautiful, in a word.

Karou, the main character, is beautiful in more ways than one. She lives as normally, as she can. But she just feels as if something is missing. And that’s it. No spoilers. Absolutely. Because the splendor of this book requires it.

Also. You like brooding boys? No, not the sparkly one. AKIVA!
Our angel Akiva is THE brooding boy, with character added on and on. This story is love at first sight done perfectly. Perfectly, I tell you, perfectly. Yum, yum, yum…

Daughter of Smoke and Bone made me go

… in all the right ways.
This book is on my special shelf, next to Harry Potter #1 and all sorts of yummy books.

Anyway. So, like. Stop reading this. Go buy it already!! Trust me on this one.

4 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. Great review! I actually recently checked this book out at my library because of all the great reviews it was getting but I could only read up to 56 pages…I guess it was a little too weird for me…just wasn’t my style but it doesn’t mean it was a good book, just wasn’t for me! But so glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • Yeah, it does have that weird… other? Yeah, like other feeling in the writing. I absolutely loved that, since I used to read so many Grimm fairy tales and Norse myths, I guess. Haha! Well, at least you tried it.

  2. Pingback: The Top 10 YA Books I Want | ~Welcome to the Insomniac Bee's Library~

  3. Pingback: TGIF! Feature and Follow (#3) « Snuggle My Books

Comment, please, because I'll read every comment. It makes me feel less like I'm just talking to myself.

