Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Title: Hex Hall
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Hyperion
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Ahh. And our beautiful cover. Doesn’t it just scream YA at you?

Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1)  

My Review:
The story starts out with Sophie Mercer, a genuine, yours truly, witch, trying to grant a girl her wish. And so the story jumps straight into characterization. What wish does she grant? A love spell, of course. And, unfortunately, it turns out right. Horribly. It worked too well, and threw the entire school into chaos. And so Sophie finds herself at Hecate Hall, or Hex Hall, juvie for witches and the general supernatural. You have no idea how lucky you are, Sophie. There she finds amazingly cool lesbian vamp Jenna, three glamorous supermodel enemy witches, the hot boy, Archer, the nice boy, Cal, so on and so forth. Then, the mystery begins. Someone is targeting powerful witches, and all the signs lead to pink-loving vamp Jenna. So. The mystery unfolds. It’s a predictable story, but it’s done well, so I don’t have to mind. 

Characters are the focal point here. Man, are they refreshing or what?

Main: I loved Sophie. If I chose a best friend to have, I’d choose Sophie. Hmm. Actually, no. It’s refreshing how similar Sophie’s thoughts and actions are similar to the normal, every-day  teen nowadays. She’s just your normal witch of the 1990s, snarkier heroine, after all. I, for one, gobbled up Sophie’s little remarks all too hungrily. And then I tucked them away for future use on unsuspecting victims.
“I’m experiencing some teenage angst, Mrs. Casnoff… I need to, like, write it in my journal or something.”
I REALLY want to use that sometime and be like:

For people who have already read this book, and are just cruising around, I thought I might add that although she doesn’t say it straight out, I’m pretty sure Sophie’s drop-dead gorgeous in a plain sort of way. Proof? Her mother is gorgeous in anything. She must have inherited those genes. Also, her grandma is beautiful when she smiles, so we must conclude Sophie is beautiful when she smiles too.
Jenna time! Goodness. How amazing this girl of the vampire persuasion is. She sleeps in coffins and yet STILL manages to keep an utterly pink room. Me gusta. The relationship between Sophie and Jenna was pretty well believable and easily slid into ‘wtf vamp in my room.’ into ‘Yay. She likes pink.’ Very nice. Jenna is a breath of fresh air in the domain of YA heroes with sad pasts. She toughs it out instead of wallowing in self-pity. 

Archer is a lot better than those creepy stalker guys these days, though. You know. Down there in the twilight zone. 

 But I still wish that Hawkins had fleshed him out a bit more. You think that when he spends half the time with Sophie he’d go beyond his stereotypical character cast…
Hopefully, he’ll develop further in the next book. A definite given, since he’s a bit of a shocker at the end.
Mystery Plot-Spoiler Person is amazing. Let me tell you, that s/he was the one I enjoyed the most. I loved the balance between morals and no morals on that one.

Again, the plot, although used many times, was enjoyable and fresh, because of the characters. Besides, I always find boarding schools more fun than usual.

Bonus for the supporting moms! Don’t you always find evil moms and dads a bit of a killjoy? (literally). I hate the fact that YA stories have these uncaring parents who are stricter than anything. I mean, weren’t they ever a teenager? Tch. Probably those really nerdy ones, if that.   

3.5 STARS 

Read this for a quick, fun time. This book will entertain you with the lovable cast of characters, most definitely. There are some dark parts in it as well, but it’s barely any, and it’s mostly very lovable.

 

You’ll Like:

  1. the characters
  2. the boarding school. Who could forget that?
  3. the ghost(s?)
  4. the boys 
One thought on “Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Comment, please, because I'll read every comment. It makes me feel less like I'm just talking to myself.

